A Brief History of Hollywood’s Oscars Governors Awards

For those who have been keeping up with Hollywood news we are sure you have heard of the sexual harassment misconduct revolving around the Governor’s award. The incident from the sex scandal was described as one of the most patriarchal, endemic, very toxic masculine revelation in the current times by actor Andrew Garfield. This brings about the big question, “what is the Governor’s Award all about?” This discussion gives a brief history of the Governor’s Award since it was established in 2009.

The Governor’s Award is an annual type of a presentation, that is hosted by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, stationed at the grand ballroom venue which is at the Hollywood and Highland center, located in Los Angeles,California. This event mother’s three achievement awards which are the: Irving G.Thalberg memorial award, Academy honorary award as well as the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian award.

Its first ceremony was held on the 14th of November 2009, in which there is a brief appearance of the award respective recipients immediately after its short mentioning as it ends with a display that contains a montage of the presentation. The launch of the Hollywood Governors Award was meant to invoke similar feelings as those of the earlier achievement award ceremonies. It’s a norm in this award ceremonies that tributes are made most especially from their fellow dignitaries before acceptance speech is given. Since the award was launch none of its proceedings have been aired on any television, but the academy did upload speeches from 2013 and 2014 proceeding to the internet.

Since its first event, the award has never failed to attract a good number of red carpet individuals, prospective Oscar nominees, actors, filmmakers, producers and many more famous personalities. It’s believed that the Hollywood Governor’s Award is one of those unavoidable stops for Seasonal Circuit Award. On the 14th of November 2009, the academy awards were presented as follows: Lauren Bacall, Gordon Willis, and Roger Corman were awarded the academy honorary award, John Calley received the Irving G. Thalberg memorial award. The ceremony has thereafter been held till now as it is in its 9th annual round.

In recent times, the Governor’s Award has been surrounded by sexual harassment misconduct. The sex scandal came about immediately after Dustin Hoffman pleaded guilty and was apologetic of his behavior as he said he respects women and his flirtatious talks were not in whatsoever way meant to make Hunter in the uncomfortable situation she was in.

The 9th annual Governors Award took place in Los Angeles Hollywood district the 11th of Saturday night despite the sex harassment hurdles it was facing those who were honored included writer Charles Burnett, Sutherland Donald an actor, Owen Roizman a cinematographer as well Agnes Varda. The ceremony was packed with high ranking faces in the entertainment industry such as Emma Stone, Andrew Garfield, Allison Williams, iconic Helen Mirren, and Jake Gyllenhaal from the film Southpaw, Jennifer Lawrence from the movie Mother and much more. Despite the lots of expectation that the sexual harassment scandal was going to be addressed, hardly was it talked about

Add Comment

American Horror Story BMF Cobra Kai Dexter Hawkeye Heels Money Heist Ozark Shark Tank Squid Game Stranger Things Succession Ted Lasso The Mandalorian
How in the World Did Peacemaker Become More Valuable Than Wonder Woman?
Who Was the Best Villain on True Blood?
Which “This Is Us” Character Matches Your Zodiac Sign
Action Adventure Comedy Documentary Drama Fantasy Horror Movie Lists Mystery Romance Sci-Fi Thriller
Is it Possible There is No ‘Real World’ in The Matrix?
Ethan Hunt vs. James Bond vs. John Wick: Who Wins?
The Five Best Meat Loaf Acting Performances of His Career
Comics Lists News Things You Didn't Know Whatever Happened To
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Jennie Nguyen
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Joycelyn Savage
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Philippine Leroy-Beaulieu
Five Must-Watch Movies For Anyone New To Hayao Miyazaki
So How Many Anime Genres Are There Anyway?
Top Five Characters In Avatar: The Last Airbender
The Top Five Characters In The Legend Of Korra
Fortnite turned Jokes into content
How Fortnite Turned Jokes Into Content
Horizon: Forbidden West Looks Intense
How Will MultiVersus Compare to the Other Platform Fighters?
Lies of P Gives a New Spin On The Classic Tale of Pinocchio