The 45th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards: Live Winners and Highlights

The 45th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards: Live Winners and Highlights

The 45th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards are in full swing at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium, and the celebration is in full swing. It’s Daytime’s biggest night of the year, with various awards given to Daytime Drama Series, Lifestyle, Talk, Courtroom, and even Digital Series. This year’s show is being live-streamed on, YouTube, and other social media platforms. Hosts Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood are leading the tone of the night, which started by bringing out a surprise guest. At 92 years young, Peter Marshall, the former host of Hollywood Squares, as well as the first host of the Daytime Emmy Awards, poked fun at the low budget of the show. No such worries can stop the celebratory feeling in the room, or of fans live-streaming the event worldwide. The night will also include recognizing several shows celebrating anniversaries. Let’s Get Started!

-Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series: Chloe Lanier (General Hospital)

-Outstanding Legal Courtroom Drama: Judge Mathis-*Presented by Attorney Gloria Allred, who took a moment to revel in Bill Cosby’s recent guilty verdict.

The first Anniversary recognized this evening is the 35th Anniversary of the hit game show Wheel of Fortune. Notable changes celebrated were the show’s international expansion, updated board, and continued chemistry between hosts Pat Sajak and Vanna White.

-Outstanding Guest Performer in a Drama Series: Vernee Watson (General Hospital)-The former Fresh Prince of Bel-Air star celebrates her 52nd year in the Entertainment industry with this award.

-Outstanding Talk Show Informative: The Dr. Oz Show

-Outstanding Drama Series, Directing Team: Days of Our Lives

Special Recognition to General Hospital actor and real life veteran Chris Van Etten, who will be returning to his role as Nurse Amy Driscoll’s brother Chet Driscoll.

-Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series: Rome Flynn (The Bold and the Beautiful)

You haven’t really laughed until you’ve seen Sheryl Underwood recap a few episodes of a Daytime Drama…dressed as one of General Hospital‘s most infamous characters, Nurse Jessie Brewer.

-Outstanding Culinary Host: Lidia Bastianich (Lidia’s Kitchen)

The stars of M*A*S*H*, Jamie Farr and Loretta Swit reunited to recognize the 50th Anniversary of the hit Children’s Show Mister Rodgers’ Neighborhood. Full disclosure, this writer teared up a little bit.

Mario Lopez presented all the Spanish Language Programming awards with his daughter Gia, whose hosting skills could rival those of her dad in a few years!

-Outstanding Entertainment Program in Spanish: Destinos 

-Outstanding Morning Program in Spanish: Despierta America!-The show celebrates this win as it celebrates 21 years on the air.

-Outstanding Talent in a Spanish Language Program: Lili Estefan (El Gordo y La Flaca)

Peter Marshall and his fellow Hollywood Squares host Tom Bergeron proudly presented the following Game Show awards.

-Outstanding Game Show Host: Wayne Brady (Let’s Make A Deal)

-Outstanding Game Show: The Price Is Right

Larry King celebrates his 61st year in broadcasting this year!

-Outstanding Drama Series, Writing Team: Days of Our Lives

General Hospital celebrates its 55th Anniversary this year, with a special tribute video to past and present moments. The video opened and closed with the show’s most beloved hospital staffer, Dr. Steve Hardy, played by the late John Beradino.

-Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Camryn Grimes (The Young and the Restless)-Grimes won a Daytime Emmy in the Younger Actress category back in 2000 for the role of Cassie Newman. This year’s win is for her role as Mariah Copeland, her former character’s twin sister.

-Outstanding Digital Drama Series: The Bay

-Outstanding Morning Program: Good Morning America

-Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Greg Vaughan (Days of Our Lives)

Days of Our Lives actress Deidre Hall honored fellow DOOL actors Bill Hayes and Susan Seaforth Hayes with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Bill Hayes received a special message from Breaking Bad actor Bryan Cranston, who once received a great kindness from Bill Hayes during a guest stint on Days. Recognizing the real-life couple’s impact, and romance, on Daytime television, both on and off-screen, well, there wasn’t a dry eye in the house. The couple gave a passionate speech together about the continued relevance of daytime dramas, and pushed for continued writing of relevant social issues.

-Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show: The Talk

-Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host: Steve Harvey (Steve)

Brad Bell and Lauralee Bell celebrated the 45th anniversary of The Young and the Restless, which was created by their parents, the late Bill Bell and his wife Lee Phillip Bell.

-Outstanding Culinary Program: A Chef’s Life

This year’s In Memoriam video tribute was sung by Joely Fisher. Some of the stars we lost this year include Monty Hall, Della Reese, David Ogden Stiers, Mark Lamura, Warren Burton, Rose Marie, Charles Bradley, and Jim Nabors.

-Best Lead Actor in a Drama Series: James Reynolds (Days of Our Lives)

-Outstanding Entertainment News Program: Entertainment Tonight

Sid and Marty Krofft were also honored as Lifetime Achievement Award Winners at this year’s Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards.

-Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host: Hosts of The Real

-Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Eileen Davidson (The Young and the Restless)-Davidson was presented the award by Elizabeth Hubbard, who won the first award in this category for her role on The Doctors.

-Outstanding Drama Series: Days of Our Lives

There you have it! This year’s Daytime Emmy Awards had special memories, with Daytime Drama Days of Our Lives as the big winner of the night, taking home 5 Emmys, not including Bill and Susan Hayes’s Lifetime Achievement Award!

What was your favorite moment from the 45th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards?

Start a Discussion

Main Heading Goes Here
Sub Heading Goes Here
No, thank you. I do not want.
100% secure your website.